South Africa

Full Name Republic of South Africa
Capital Pretoria
Form of Government Parliamentary Republic
Date of Independence 31 May, 1961
Date of Entry into the UN
Total Area 1 221 037 km2 (25th)
471 443 sq mi
Total Population (2008 estimate) 47 900 000 (25th)
Time Zone SAST (UTC+2)
Currency Rand
GDP (Nominal, 2007 estimate) $283.071 billion
GDP Per Capita $5,915
Human Development Index .674
Languages Afrikaans, English, Southern Ndebele, Northern Sotho,
Southern Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda,
Xhosa, Zulu
Etnic Groups 79.5% Black, 9.2% White, 8.9% Coloured, 2.5% Asian
Religions 79.7% Christian, 1.5% Islam, Hinduism j1.3%
Principal Cities Pretoria, Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Johannesburg
TV stations

Did you find this information helpful? If you did, consider donating.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *